To kick off April and the time when Spring actually seems to come around, I wanted a more upbeat and fun song than some of my previous ones. So, I chose Icona Pop’s, who is a Swedish pop DJ group, big single “I Love It (I Don’t Care)” and features (and was partially written by) Charli XCX. Although this song actually was released as a single in May of 2012. Despite this, the song did not take off in the US until recently when it was featured on the hit CW show, The Vampire Diaries, performed on Dancing with the Stars, and used in a Designer Shoe Warehouse (DSW) commercial.

I personally love this song for its simple lyrics, strong voices, and well played tempo/beat. It is easy to dance to and fun to just listen to as well.

WARNING: unlike the songs I typically upload on this site, this one does contain language some might find offensive. Personally, it does not bother me, but I want to give all fair warning. This song and visuals belong to Icona Pop and Charli XCX and TEN Music Group.

What do you think of the song? And what do you think of Icona Pop?

Song of the Month: April

Leave a Reply

