I am not the world’s biggest fan of Christmas music, but I thought I would give this one a listen since it features several of my favorite bands. The CD is well-done and is a more modern take on the Christmas classics. I like how each musician/band made the song their own without distorting the song into something unrecognizable. I will most definitely be picking up the “Holidays Rule” CD and listening to it throughout the Christmas season.

Track List:

Sleigh Ride – Fun.
Wonderful Christmastime – The Shins
Baby, It s Cold Outside – Rufus Wainwright featuring Sharon Van Etten
The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire) – Paul McCartney with Diana Krall
(Everybody s Waitin for) The Man with the Bag – Black Prairie featuring Sallie Ford
I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day – The Civil Wars
Green Grows the Holly – Calexico
We Need a Little Christmas – AgesandAges
That s What I Want for Christmas – Holly Golightly
May Ev’ry Day Be Christmas – Irma Thomas with Preservation Hall Jazz Band
Blue Christmas – Heartless Bastards
Santa, Bring My Baby Back (To Me) – Eleanor Friedberger
It’s Beginning to Look Like Christmas -Fruit Bats
Señor Santa (Mister Santa) – Y La Bamba
O Come, O Come, Emmanuel – Punch Brothers
What Are You Doing New Year s Eve? – The Head and the Heart
Auld Lang Syne – Andrew Bird

Starbucks “Holidays Rule” CD

Leave a Reply

