Looks For Less: Alexander McQueen Skull Scarf

As some of you may already know, I have been a huge fan of the Alexander McQueen fashion house– and I have been craving one of their skull scarves for years. But when you have to decide between your college tuition bill and a gorgeous scarf (that can cost up to $700), the bill (sadly) comes first. I have long been wearing masculine, hard-edged accessories with lacy, girly dresses and/or prints, but I have had to brace the fact that a McQueen scarf would not be within my near future. But, thankfully, I met a fellow fashion blogger that was willing to help me out with my search for the elusive McQueen scarf (see photo 1). Laura, of http://astimegoesbuy.me, did a version of her segment “Lust Have” so I could see versions of the McQueen scarf that would not break my budget. I tried to find some of the versions that Laura listed, but was unable to find any when I went into the stores or some of the websites. I was ready to accept the fact that I would have to swallow the metaphorical pill and ask my parents to get me the scarf for Christmas (and accept the fact that I wouldn’t get as many presents for the rest of the year), but today I found the scarf. I was shopping with a friend in one of the malls in the city and saw a jacket in the window of Wet Seal that I liked. Well, in the end they didn’t have my size in the jacket, but they had a black-and-white skull scarf that I immediately fell for. In the end, I puchased the scarf (see photos 2 and 3) for $10.50– a much easier price than the $700 price tag.

Thank you Laura for all of your help! And, everyone, please visit Laura’s blog:

http://astimegoesbuy.me

Are there any runway or expensive products you want researched? Please tell me in the comments section.

ImageImageImage

3 thoughts on “Looks For Less: Alexander McQueen Skull Scarf

  1. Well done! I like the version you bought!
    And even though I originally didn’t get your obsession I now think it is a perfect accessory to keep a potentially sickening sweet look from causing a sugar overload and I may have to keep an eye out for a less expensive version to add to my scarf collection. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Looking forward to seeing a couple of outfits using your new scarf!
    Cheers,
    Laura

Leave a Reply

