Fashionable Females: Eliza Doolittle of Pygmalion/My Fair Lady

Eliza Doolittle, a character made famous to modern audiences in the 1964 movie musical My Fair Lady (which was based on the play “Pygmalion” by George Bernard Shaw), is not a character many would associate with modern Parisian fashion– but now she is. Eliza Doolittle (see photo 1; Audrey Hepburn plays Eliza) was the inspiration behind the Louis Vuitton (see photo 2) and Marc Jacobs (see photo 3) Fall/Winter runways. From the Victorian silhouettes, the exaggerated hats, and mixture of prints, all I could think of was dear Eliza singing “Wouldn’t It be Lovely?”. I really love the hats from Marc Jacobs and the purses from Louis Vuitton, but I do not particularly care for the dresses from either collection. I do not deny that that they are unique and well made, they are just not my style at all. Although, I have a feeling that Eliza would love them.

What do you think of the collections by Louis Vuitton and Marc Jacobs? And what do you think of Eliza Doolittle as an inspiration?

ImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

