Runway Review: J Crew Fall/Winter 2012/2013

I have a confession to make: I am addicted to J Crew and all of their products. I wore one of their organza dresses for my High School graduation, I wear their blazers and sweaters in the Fall, I have a skinny belt in every color from them, and I have a tendency to wear their blouses with my brother’s skinny ties (I am channelling my inner Annie Hall). J Crew is known for its preppy style and simple sophistication, which has become more developed through the collections. For the upcoming season, J Crew premiered long pencil skirts, bright trousers, colorful trench coats, and printed sweaters– they also fused their menswear and womenswear to create an androgynous, but practical look. While the stereotypical prep movement is no longer as strong as it was a few decades ago, J Crew has modified its style to still have that prep look, but merged with a modern edge and artistic hipster flair. I really love the new collection and have already purchased a polka-dot sweater, polka-dot blouse, and a black skinny tie from my closest store. The new collection has that classic, Audrey Hepburn sophistication with the humor of the modern woman.

What do you think of the new collection by J Crew? And what do you think of the “modern prep”?

ImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

