Runway Review: Alexander McQueen Pre-Spring/Summer 2013

The House of Alexander McQueen is one of my favorite fashion houses (I hope to one day work for them). The company is known for its couture, yet desired designs, elaborate runways, and the controversial themes it discusses (insanity, politics, and death/the divine, just to name a few). Well, McQueen has just released their Pre-Fall collection and I find it to be stunning. The patterns are lovely and the juxtaposed styling of menswear-inspired jumpsuits and blazers (see photo 1) with ultra feminine gowns will appeal to many different types of women. I would love to wear any of these outfits (who cares that technically I have no where to wear these outfits? I would wear them to Philosophy class if I had to!). Personally, I prefer McQueen’s Pre-season collections to their regular collections. I feel that the designers (Sarah Burton is Creative Director) have less pressure to create a certain type of look for Fashion Week, so they can be as creative as they want to be. So, I feel that that creative freedom allows the company to make some of their best work.

What do you think of the new collection? And do you have a favorite McQueen collection?

ImageImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

