Vera Bradley: Fall/Winter 2012/2013 Collection

This company has become as much a member of the female collegiate’s wardrobe as jeans and sweaters. Vera Bradley, a company started by two women who believed luggage was just plain ugly, is a fashion company that designs bold prints on traditional purse and luggage shapes. I have many Vera Bradley bags (mostly totes, messenger bags, hipster bags, luggage, wallets, lanyards, wristlets, and a lunch box– needless to say, I have well over thirty Vera Bradley products) and they are a major statement for every fashionista on my college campus (they even sell Vera Bradley products in the school bookstore). Basically, Vera Bradley is a company that has relatively good prices for people and debt-ridened college students.

Every season this company releases three or four new patterns for their various products. For the upcoming Fall/Winter season, Vera Bradley has released three new patterns: Plaid Meets Paisley (a bright pink paisley pattern set against a gray houndstooth background), Indigo Pop (a swirl of blue and green mosaic-like pattern set against a dark blue background), and Va Va Bloom (an explosion of bright flowers in many colors set against a simple black background). I have included an image of all three new patterns in photo 2. I personally use a hipster as my basic purse, a tote for classes that require textbooks or if I carry my fashion magazines with my school supplies, and a messenger bag for my laptop and/or supplies for class. I have never had a cloth bag last as long as these– I recieved my first Vera Bradley bag at the age of twelve, and I still use that same bag in college. For this new collection, Vera Bradley is putting the new patterns onto bedspreads, hard luggage (versus the duffle or weekend bags), rugs, and towels. Continuing, Vera Bradley is now focusing their marketing towards their newly defined target audience– female college students (see photo 1). This company understands that young women purchase these bags because they cannot afford to drop several hundred dollars for a bag, but they also ensure that these products are well made and fashionable.

What do you think of the new Vera Bradley patterns and refocused marketing? Are you a Vera Bradley user or do you admire the company? And which of the new patterns is your favorite?

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

