Fashionable Fighters: Superheroes and Villians

Most people, especially young adults, have grown up with some type of superhero. Whether through the comic books, the cartoons, the online videos, the television shows, and/or the movies, most of us have been introduced to the world of superheroes and super villians. For me, I was first exposed to this world through cartoons– I vividly remember watching an animated Spiderman swing around New York City and an animated Batman fight crimes in the dead of night. Then, in 2002, I went to the movie theatres with my father and older brother to go see Spiderman. At the impressionable age seven, my mind was blown by seeing Tobey Maguire swing around skyscrapers as Spiderman– and I went to every Spiderman film, including the recent reboot, and have remained a fan of the franchise. So, probably as a result of watching the 1990s and early 2000s cartoons and the Spiderman trilogy, Peter Parker/Spiderman became my favorite superhero– I enjoy the character’s caustic sense of humor, his realistic personality, and the notion that no matter how much adversity you face, you need to do what is right (no matter how hard that can sometimes be).  Continuing, I also have a favorite super villian– Poison Ivy from the Batman franchise. I like how confident she is in her abilities and the fact that she is unapologetic about who she is (even if some of those characteristics are not that positive). Personally, I feel that Poison Ivy and Catwoman are the most intelligent female villians in the comic book world, maybe two of the most intelligent villians, period.

What do you think? Do you have a favorite superhero and/or villian? How were you first introduced to this world?

Image

Leave a Reply

